KineMan Pro normally offers two ways to save pose information:
The Save Poses Option supplements these, and works around their limitations, by providing more powerful tools to save pose data, including:
For each of the Save Poses methods, the pose data includes the angles values for the body & all joints, which makes it possible to later view the poses in 3D, and modify the joint positions.
Tools to restore and read saved pose data are provided as a standard feature of KineMan Pro (as described under ‘Restore Poses’ elsewhere in the Features Table). That is, KineMan Pro users are able to READ pose files, and then display & manipulate the poses therein. The Save Poses Option provides the additional tools to WRITE pose information as well, i.e., it enables you to serve as an ‘author’ of poses.
Note about privacy: Poses saved using the Save Poses Option are stored on your local disk; they are not sent or accessed by the KineMan website server. The only way they can be accessed by anyone else is if you choose to share them, by distributing them as a file, or, by allowing others access to your browsing data (for example, by syncing browser accounts).
The Auto-save feature automatically saves your most recent pose into your ‘browser storage’, and allows you to restore it at the beginning of a new KineMan Pro session. This helps prevent lost data caused by inadvertently closing your browser, browser crash, power loss, etc.
The key benefit of saving a pose this way is that it's automatic: you don’t have to remember to save your last pose & you don’t have to assign a name to identify it.
On the other hand, if you need to restore an auto-saved pose, you need to do it at the start of a new KineMan session (because the auto-saved pose data is continually updated, whenever you make any changes to the pose). So, to continue your work from one session to the next, it’s advisable to save poses using the Save named poses method.
With the Save Poses Option, you can assign a name to any pose, save it, and restore it at some later time (during same KineMan session, or, in some future session). Named poses are saved into the ‘KineMan Repository’ (a portion of your browser data storage area). The Repository can potentially hold 100's of poses. Poses saved in the Repository will be available whenever you use KineMan Pro – they’re not discarded when you exit the application or close your browser. Thus, you can begin to create an intricate pose (or series of poses) during one KineMan session, and if necessary, continue with your task at a later time.
Repository poses can be conveniently restored by selecting the name from a menu; once selected, the pose appears automatically in the KineMan Pro viewing area. From there, you can spin it around, move the joints, hide bones, etc, just as for any other pose!
For convenience, you can re-use the same pose name multiple times: KineMan Pro adds a unique numeric suffix to all pose names. This can be handy when you're saving a group of related poses. You can also delete any named pose from the Repository, simply yet safely.
The KineMan Repository (described above) is ‘technically’ saved on your local disk, but the file holding it is intended only for use by your browser, not by you: you can't select the name or edit the contents, and you probably shouldn't share it.
To bypass these obstacles, KineMan Pro allows you to save your current Repository to a file you choose. You can select the name and the path, and make as many backup copies as you like. Later, you can restore a repository from a disk file back into KineMan.
This capability provides multiple benefits: